The Tomb of St Nicholas
St Nicholas better known now days as Father Christmas or Santa Claus was the Bishop of Myra, which is just a few miles from from Gemiler Island in modern day Demre.
Later St Nicholas's remains were again removed by a special expedition in 1087 to the city of Bari in Italy making the Bishop quite well travelled for someone who had been deceased for over 700 years. The church that housed the remains is referred to as the third church and is on the highest part of the Island at the top of the ceremonial passage. The remains were believed to have been kept below the alter.
Most vistors discover St Nicholas Island either on one of the many Island hoping tours that come from Fethiye and Olu Deniz or by walking down from Kayakoy and geting a boat across the half mile stretch of water from Gemiler bay.